Submit a ticket My Tickets
Welcome
Login  Sign up

How to Create and Manage Role-Based Permissions

Role-based permissions allow teams greater functionality around managing permissions. Roles can be created, edited, and granted with specific permissions. Agents assigned to a role will inherit the specific permissions assigned to that role.


To access the Roles Settings page, click the  symbol (located upper left) to expand the dashboard menu, and then click “Settings”. After navigating to the Settings page, click on “Roles”:


From the Roles Settings page, roles can be created (1), managed (2), and deleted (3):


When deleting a role, it is important to note that any agents assigned to that role will be reverted back to their previous permissions. If an agent had no permissions prior to being assigned a role, then they will have no permissions when the assigned role is deleted or unassigned. 

To create a role, simply provide the name of the role and its description, and when ready, click “Save”:


Once the new role has been created, it will appear, on a list, further below:


To edit the name and description of a role, click on the icon and provide the new name and description when prompted.


To manage the permissions for a role, select the role by hovering your cursor in its section (the role’s section will be highlighted in gray when selected):


Click the highlighted area to reveal its permissions:



Permissions can be granted by clicking theicon located left of the permission. To revoke a permission, simply click on theicon. A granted permission is indicated by aicon located left of the permissions:



Permissions are granted and revoked instantly, which should be considered when managing a role’s permissions. 


W
William is the author of this solution article.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.